Strolling Salt Lake City’s Main Street

Hi!  This post is more from mine and Shirley’s first adventure with the pop-up gardens.  We actually spent the whole day wandering up and down Main Street in down town Salt Lake!  It was great fun spending the day window shopping and enjoying the atmosphere of the city.  We rode the bus in from Kaysville, trying to get the most for our $$$ with parking, but we found parking for $6.00 all day on the corner of 4th and Main. Unless you plan to spend your time in the City Creek Mall or specifically Temple Square this parking lot is a gem.

You will see quickly that I am an architecture nerd.  I love buildings from almost all eras of human history and I love close ups of buildings as well.  Unfortunately I don’t remember when this or that was built or the names of the types columns etc.  I lost that knowledge somewhere along the way between college graduation and now.  Ah well, it’s still fun to see all the “pretty” buildings.

First Security Building
I love this building mostly because it’s caught between two modern buildings it would be out of place but it’s height adds it’s own weight.
corner of 2nd and main
in front of this awesome building are amazing artistic tiles seen below!
Ray's Barber Shop
This picture was taken by Shirley S Page, (not me :)). The incredible barber shop full of smells from another life time…ahhh….

 

honoring our fallen
When I saw this my heart was touched. I am proud to be part of a community that recognizes our officers who put their lives on the line every day for the protection and well being of our city, state and country. Thank you Officers Honey and Huntsman for your service.

This concludes today’s post, with any luck there will be another with some of the other pictures that I want to share but haven’t yet…I hope you enjoyed this stroll as much as we did.  It’s great way to get out and do something a little different,  to see and appreciate what most of us just drive or walk by without a second thought.

Author: Robyn Tingey

I'm fine thanks....no really... Just kidding. I'm a girl "borned an' raised" in Utah. I tried to escape to Denver Colorado but after 3 years I somehow ended up back home. I consider myself a "girl" for two main reasons. First, even though I have a college degree and a full time job I'm still deciding what I want to be when I grow up. Second, my biological age states that I'm in my "late" 30's, yet I still have many days when my 5 year old self rules the day and I find myself caught up in the magic and whimsy of the days that continue to pass by. I have a bachelors in fine arts from Utah State University. I love Logan UT (home to my alma mater) and hope to live there again someday. I'm tied to Logan not only because of my own adventures there but I have a lot of family history going back to the first settlers in the area. I am a member of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter Day Saints (or Mormon if you prefer). I have been all my life and will be for the rest of my life. However I do like to learn about other religions and to find our common ground. There is a lot of common ground to cover that many seem to forget when speaking about religion. My testimony of this church is grounded in The Book of Mormon: Another Testament of Jesus Christ. This book has helped me to know who I am where I came from and where I'm going. It has taught and continues to teach me about what the atonement of Christ has truly done for us all. I read this and the Bible together as they bring harmony and strength to the teachings of Christ as no two other books or teachings I have ever found (thus far....). I'm sure this is more than y'all ever wanted to know about me. But that's what you get for asking! 😀😜😘

Leave a Reply

